top of page
Search

Struggling with your vows?


All my couples number one worry is writing their vows! I get it, it can be very nerve racking getting up in front of all your nearest and dearest and pouring your heart out. But don't worry I will support you along the way and provide some examples to get the juices flowing.


I've come up with some quick tips below, which I am hoping may help:

  • Be yourself! Use language that you would normally use with each other.

  • Seek some inspiration online. While Google can be a good source, it can also be very generic. Look for some blogs that have authentic examples and not the standard one liners.

  • There is no set structure, create your own! Chat to your partner to see if they have a set structure and you can decide on this together.

  • Make a list of all your thoughts, think about it and then decide later which points you like best to include

  • Write some nice words about your partner; the things you love about them; their quirks; their passion and dreams; what you want for your future together; throw some jokes in; relive some memories or emotions; list some promises; close with a final vow. Whatever works for you and what feels genuine.

  • Don't worry about sounding cheesy or worry about your guests judgement. Speak from the heart and you will no doubt have some watery eyes in the crowd.

  • Talk to your partner about length. You don't want one of you to have two pages (which can be considered too long) and the other to have two sentences. Decide on a similar length so the ceremony flows nicely. It's up to you how long you want to talk but vows can range from 120 - 250 words.

  • Don't leave them to the last minute! Give yourself a reasonable amount of time to get them right and not be rushed.

  • Once you are done, read them out loud (away from your partner so they can't hear). Like any public speaking, practice makes perfect. But just reading over them a couple of times will certainly calm your nerves.

  • On the day breathe! Take it slow, don't rush them. Take time to pause and look into your partners eyes; laugh together; cry together. It's the most magical part of the ceremony so embrace all the feels.


Once you are done writing your vows, I will get you to email them to me. I will proof read them and provide any feedback if necessary. I try not to change too much as I want what you write to be genuine and from you (not me) but I will provide any constructive feedback if needed. I will then print out your personal vows, along with your legal vows onto a nice little 'fancy' card which I will hand to you at the vow section of the ceremony. No need for you to write them out or worry about printing them on paper. I've got you covered.


Give me a shout if you need any help at any stage, I'm hear to help you!

51 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page